Not Just Another Day

I know I’ve had other days where it seems like time just doesn’t move at its normal pace but usually it isn’t the full day but only a small portion of it.  Yesterday was one of those days, from start to finish.  Every time I looked at the clock, my mental thought was ‘what the f#$k?, I know more time has passed than that.’  I started my day by getting a shower, which included washing my hair, getting dressed, drying my hair, ensuring my daughter was getting ready for school, packing her backpack and dressed appropriately for the weather while checking the weather, the traffic cams and responding to a work email regarding replacing my business cell phone, all within 1 hour and I was not rushing or frantic or anything.  It all felt like a normal pace as if I had all the time in the world.  I dropped my daughter off at school and was on the highway by 8:30am heading for my chiropractor that on a Saturday drive takes 1 hour and 15 minutes to get to.  Today I arrived in exactly 1 hour and no I wasn’t speeding or taking short cuts, I took the same route and it was a mid-week when people are on the road trying to get to work.  I walked into the chiropractor’s office and was immediately taken in to see him and was out and on the road to visit my favorite bookstore which took me even further away from home arriving about 10:05am at the store.  The time dilation was wonderful in the bookstore, I browsed probably 20 magazines, choosing 5, found all but one of the books I wanted to buy, checked their computer to see if another store nearby had the book (no luck) and browsed through the crochet and knitting section cautious of watching the time since I needed to be home by 2:00pm to pick up my daughter from school at 2:15pm.  I left the store at 11:50, stopped and got hot chocolate and a banana loaf and arrived home at 1:00pm after stopping at the post office to mail a letter and the post office had a line of 3 people ahead of me and oh yeah I browsed their magazine section too before leaving!  I kid you not, I’ve done this same trip on a Saturday with less traffic and I never get home before 3pm.  Yes I left at 8:30am on a Tuesday morning whereas on Saturday’s I leave at 9:30am but still I gained an hour somewhere and it wasn’t by changing the time on the clock.  For me yesterday, time just moved much slower while I moved at my normal daily pace, and this continued for the rest of day, the wait from 1:00pm to 2:00pm felt like 1.5 hours, and taking my daughter to her martial arts classes (2 in a row), I probably read two times more during the 2 hours her classes took while I waited and watched.  Home and dinner and the rest of the night all followed with the same feeling as I read catching up on email, and Facebook, reading a new blog about a fellow knitter and a story he wrote then started researching the possibility of creating my own blog.  When I looked at the clock sure it was time for bed it was only 10:30pm and not the 11:30pm I thought it would be, which actually was a good thing because I needed that extra time to put out the trash I forgot about and then find what I only just discovered was my missing iPhone finally finding it in my car after calling it several times.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining, as much as my mind had its little shocks throughout the day each time I looked at the clock, it isn’t the fact that I get so much more done or can do it without feeling stressed or pressed for time.  The enjoyment I feel is over the experience of seeing the time dilation and knowing, really knowing I was in the midst of it.  You can’t prove it to other people.  You can tell them as I am trying to express it here and giving them what little proof you have of how long it takes to drive here or there but no matter how much you try to prove it to them, you can always tell they don’t believe you or they try to convince you that you were either driving at a different speed or something else explains how it all happened.  No one wants to believe in the unexplainable or what appears to be outside of what we consider to be the normal laws of nature.

Have you ever noticed that sometimes when you express a thought to someone about wanting or needing something and then suddenly that thought or need or want comes to fruition?  Well that happened to me yesterday too.  I wrote to a friend of mine the day before yesterday expressing my need to find a way of influencing change.  I wasn’t sure how I would do such a thing and told her I expected it to be on my mind for most of my drive to and from the chiropractor and in fact it was.  Last night when I was catching up on Facebook on past posts that I hadn’t gotten to read all day, I came across a post from Lion Brand about a struggling entrepreneur for which was included his blog.  Interested in hearing his story, I went to his blog and read and read and read and read some more, responded to one of his posts and wondering how he was able to maintain a blog when it was obvious he had little to no money to spare, so I researched the source of his blog and discovered wordpress.com.  I’m pretty sure I had heard of them before but at that time I wasn’t considering what I was needing to satisfy a frustration I was feeling.  So now because of what appear to be so many unrelated items of the past couple of days, I now find myself with my own blog and being able to write my own thoughts for anyone to read and comment upon with the possibility of inspiration for everyone, including me.

I am hoping I can keep this upbeat and positive which will be a challenge as I sometimes feel myself being way too negative.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iamforchange
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 17:35:34

    Happy Thanksgiving American Style… “Gobble Gobble” because today is not just another day! I hope yours is a very Beautiful one!

    Reply

  2. Callie Maenpaa
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 21:01:36

    I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, thank you for all the great content.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Chirotic Journal

Astrology Articles

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

Purple Tulip Art Studio

"Inspiration, is everywhere..."

Mickie's Mind

What is on Mickie's mind today? Crafting such as wire wrap jewelry, beading, polymer clay sculpting, art journaling, or more? Food as in recipes, restaurant reviews or cost cutting? Entertainment such as movies, books, music or games? What will we discuss today?

My Planner Life

free happy planner printables

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Pretty Prints & Paper

Using the bullet journal and calligraphy to cultivate an intentional life

Our Better Health

Diet, Health, Fitness, Lifestyle & Wellness

Postcards From Panama

Life in the Tropics

The Calligraphy Pen

The Calligraphy Blog

paper, craft & scissors

paper doesn't care about a grainline (much)

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

Kjoywrites

Where reality meets emotions.

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

An Undiscovered Muse

They exist. I can taste it.

