Opening and Closing Doorways… which do you want open?

This weekend has been a reminder to me. A reminder to be true to myself. To not let the superficial interfere with allowing life to flow harmoniously. To not allow insecurity to play a role in deceiving myself. But mostly to not run away from anything that awakens me to what lies dormant within me.

It is interesting when one changes their focus how doorways will open and others close. I made a leap in my own observations realizing the focus I had was not clear, was not defined enough in detail and thus was allowing distractions or should I say detours from my intended course.

Sometimes focusing on a point too far in the future will allow for too many possibilities that in the end will steer us off course. This is what was happening to me.

When I realized this, I asked myself how I could correct my course and ultimately attract that which I ultimately seek. As in programming a super computer, one doesn’t sit down and write the program in one long uninterrupted session. Though a genius probably could, it isn’t usually done and a genius probably knows it is better to do so in incremental steps.

This is the conclusion I came to. Instead of focusing on the end result, as ‘the result’ which was not completely clear anyway because of too many unknowns, I switched my focus to visualize the first step in the process. Then to alter that visualization as progress is achieved to reach the next step in the process all the while keeping the idea of the destination as a reference point while allowing flexibility for change in the destination if what is learned along the journey brings one the knowledge that the original destination is no longer desirable.

What I realized in doing so is the end is not really an end at all but an ongoing process that brings us much more than we were ever able to visualize when we were focused on the end result.

A friend told me, “the journey is more important than the destination”.

Though I had already taken the steps I did to alter my focus, his words reminded me, that my altered course was now about enjoying the journey and in fact I have no doubt if I had not altered my course, the door to meeting him would have remained closed.

Our choices open some doors and closes other doors. If the right doors are not opening then maybe we are not making the right choices.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Inner Wonderings
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 09:35:01

    Very well put. I can definitely relate, and am trying to make similar observations and adjustments in my own life.

    Reply

  2. hatrbe
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 10:28:30

    Very true. I’m learning and applying this very lesson as I travel my new life path.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Write or wrong?

Free the mind...

BoundYou

Information and Guidelines compiled from various Expert's works and articles.

Chirotic Journal

with astrologer Jeremy Neal

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

Purple Tulip Art Studio

"Inspiration, is everywhere..."

Mickie's Mind

What is on Mickie's mind today? Crafting such as wire wrap jewelry, beading, polymer clay sculpting, art journaling, or more? Food as in recipes, restaurant reviews or cost cutting? Entertainment such as movies, books, music or games? What will we discuss today?

My Planner Life

free happy planner printables

𝔸 𝕓𝕚𝕥 𝕠𝕗 𝕄𝕊

My journey through pain, hardship and struggle from a paediatric MS diagnosis.

The Frugal Crafter Blog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Dr. Eric Perry’s Blog

Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Pretty Prints & Paper

Using the bullet journal and calligraphy to cultivate an intentional life

Our Better Health

Diet, Health, Fitness, Lifestyle & Wellness

Postcards From Panama

Life in the Tropics

The Calligraphy Pen

The Calligraphy Blog

undermounted

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

Kjoywrites

Where reality meets emotions.